[Skip to Content]

Governor's Community Achievement Awards (GCAA)

The GCAA program is one of the most prestigious annual environmental awards in Texas. This year, 10 winning communities will share $2 million in landscape awards from the Texas Department of Transportation for their outstanding overall efforts to keep their communities beautiful. 

The Awards recognize achievement in 7 areas:

  • Community Leadership and Coordination
  • Public Awareness
  • Education
  • Beautification and Community Improvement
  • Litter Prevention and Cleanup
  • Solid Waste Management
  • Litter Law and Illegal Dumping Enforcement

The Governor's Community Achievement Awards will open January 1, 2019 . The award application must be submitted online, with written summary and supplemental materials uploaded and application fees received by 11:59 p.m., February 15, 2019.  Late, faxed or emailed entries will not be accepted. There is an application fee of $25/entry. 

GCAA scores and judges' comments will be sent to applicants by 5 p.m., April 20, 2019.