[Skip to Content]
With KTB's distinct awards programs, there are many opportunities to recognize the efforts of individuals, schools, businesses, and communities that work to keep the Lone Star State's environment clean. Awards will begin opening in January 2020, so check back soon! 


Nominations are now CLOSED for the 2021 Beautify Texas Awards (formerly KTB Awards). These awards recognize efforts made by individuals and organizations to enhance their communities and protect the Texas environment. One winner per category will be selected and recognized at the annual KTB Conference in June 2021.

Download this flyer to see the list of application questions and other criteria to consider when submitting a nomination.

Important Dates

All applications should detail programming, events and service from January 1 - December 31, 2020, with the exception of the Leadership Award. The application will open on Monday, February 22, 2021 and close on Thursday, March 25, 2021 at 5 p.m. CST. Limit 5 applications per category per nominator. We reserve the right to move any submission to a different category in which it fits better. Previous winners will not be eligible to win in the same category again until three years after their win. For example, 2018 winners will be eligible to win in the same category again in 2021. Late, emailed, mailed or faxed entries will be automatically disqualified.

Year Won Year Eligible Again
2017 2020
2018 2021
2019 2022
2020 2023

Award Categories

The Beautify Texas Awards include many of the same categories of the former Keep Texas Beautiful Awards. They are now organized into two subsets, Individual and Organization Awards. The application period will open and close at the same time for all awards. 

Individual Awards

  • Keep Texas Beautiful Leadership Award
  • OP Schnabel Volunteer of the Year
  • Ruthe Jackson Youth Individual
  • Sadie Ray Graff Educator

Organizational Awards

  • Ebby Halliday & Maurice Acers Business/Industry Award
  • Outstanding Program
  • Outstanding Project
  • Public Education and Outreach
  • Ruthe Jackson Youth Organization
  • Sadie Ray Graff Educational Institution

Head over to the Beautify Texas Awards Page for more information!

Governor's Community Achievement Awards (GCAA)

The Governor's Community Achievement Awards application is now CLOSED

The GCAA program is one of the most prestigious annual environmental awards in Texas. This year, ten winning communities will share $2 million in landscape awards from the Texas Department of Transportation for their outstanding overall efforts to keep their communities beautiful. All award winners will be recognized at the annual Keep Texas Beautiful Conference held June 28-30, 2021 in Austin, Texas. Conference details and registration will be provided to the winners when available. A representative from the winning community is required to attend the award ceremony. 

The Awards recognize achievement in seven areas:

  • Community Leadership and Coordination
  • Public Awareness and Outreach
  • Environmental Education
  • Beautification and Community Improvement
  • Litter Prevention and Cleanup
  • Solid Waste Management
  • Litter Law and Illegal Dumping Enforcement

To learn more about the GCAA awards and get started preparing your application, please join us on Thursday, December 17 at 12pm CST for the GCAA Webinar Series Part 1: Tackling the Online Application and Thursday, January 21 at 12pm CST for the GCAA Webinar Series Part 2: Tips from Past Winners

Beginning with first place GCAA winners in 2020, winners will not be eligible to place in GCAA again for the following four years (this was previously three years). For example, first place GCAA winners in 2020 will not be able to achieve first, second or third place until 2025. However, all first place winners from 2017-2019 are still eligible to place three full years after their win. See the chart below as a reference.

Winning Year Eligible Again 
2017 2021
2018 2022
2019 2023
2020 2025
2021 2026
2022 2027

For KTB Affiliates: Beginning in 2021, the GCAA application will no longer count towards affliate Silver or Gold Status.