[Skip to Content]

Governor's Community Achievement Awards (GCAA)

The GCAA program is one of the most prestigious annual environmental awards in Texas. This year, 10 winning communities will share $2 million in landscape awards from the Texas Department of Transportation for their outstanding overall efforts to keep their communities beautiful. The funds are used for landscaping projects along state right-of-way”.

The Awards recognize achievement in 7 areas:

  • Community Leadership and Coordination
  • Public Awareness and Outreach
  • Environmental Education
  • Beautification and Community Improvement
  • Litter Prevention and Cleanup
  • Solid Waste Management
  • Litter Law and Illegal Dumping Enforcement

To learn more about the GCAA awards and get started preparing your application, please join us on Tuesday, December 14, 2021 at noon for GCAA Webinar 1: Prep With Help from Past Winners and on Tuesday, January 11, 2022 at noon for GCAA Webinar 2: Tackling the Online Application.

Beginning with first place GCAA winners in 2020, winners are not eligible to place in GCAA again for the following four years (this was previously three years). For example, first place GCAA winners in 2020 will not be able to achieve first, second or third place until 2025. However, all first place winners from 2017-2019 are still eligible to place three full years after their win. See the chart below as a reference.

Winning Year Eligible Again 
2018 2022
2019 2023
2020 2025
2021 2026
2022 2027

GCAA scores and judges' comments will be sent to applicants in April 2022.The Governor's Community Achievement Awards will open January 3, 2021. The award application must be submitted online with all supplemental materials uploaded and application fees received by Thursday, February 17, 2022 at 5pm CST.  Late, faxed or emailed entries will not be accepted. There is an application fee of $25/entry.